April 6, 2006

Ono Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. President and Representative Director: Takashi Iwai Code No: 4528 at the first section of the Tokyo and Osaka Stock Exchange INQUIRIES: Kinya Morimoto, Director, Public Relations (Phone: 06 6263 5670)

## Announcement on Changes of Members of the Board of Directors

Ono Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. announced that the following changes of Representative Director and members of the Board of Directors were resolved at its Board of Directors meeting held on April 6, 2006. The resolution is expected to become effective upon formal resolution at the 58<sup>th</sup> General Shareholders' meeting and the Board of Directors meeting to be held following the Shareholders' meeting on June 29, 2006.

- 1. Changes of Representative Director in late June 2006 (): Current position
  - (1) Representative Director to be resigned Kimiichiro Matsumoto (Chairman and Representative Director)
  - (2) Reason for the change To accelerate the process making management decision

## 2. Changes of members of the Board of Directors in late June 2006 (): Current position

- (1) Promotion of Members of the Board of DirectorsNot applicable
- (2) Candidates for members of the Board of Directors

President and Representative Director Takashi Iwai (President and Representative Director: to be reappointed)

Executive Director and Advisor to the Board Toshio Ueno (Executive Director and Advisor to the Board: to be reappointed)

Executive Director Isao Ono (Executive Director, Director of Environmental Management: to be reappointed)

Executive Director, Fumio Takahashi (Executive Director, Director of Marketing Promotion: to be reappointed)

Executive Director Shozo Matsuoka (Executive Director, Director of Development Headquarters and Head of Development Planning: to be reappointed) Executive Director Gyo Sagara (Director of General Administration Headquarters and Head of Corporate Management: to be newly appointed)

Executive Director Kei Sano (Director of Marketing Headquarters: to be newly appointed)

Executive Director Hiroshi Ichikawa (Director of Tokyo Metropolitan Marketing and Tokyo 1<sup>st</sup> Branch: to be newly appointed)

\* Representative Directors are expected to be elected at the Board of Directors meeting after the 58<sup>th</sup> General Shareholders' meeting.

## (3) The members of the Board of Directors to be resigned

Chairman and Representative Director Kimiichiro Matsumoto (Chairman and Representative Director)

Executive Director Hiroo Takashima (Executive Director, Director of Business Operation Audit)

Executive Director Kigen Kondo (Executive Director, Director of R&D Investigation)

Executive Director Yoshinobu Oguri (Executive Director, Director of Human Resource Development)

Executive Director (Executive Director) Toshiharu Korekane